United Kingdom

The Legal Framework for Arbitration

General Information

  • UNCITRAL Model-Law based: It has been adopted in Scotland, Bermuda, and the British Virgin Islands.

  • Legal Provisions: England, Wales & Northern Ireland: Arbitration Act 1996, Chapter 23. For Scotland: Arbitration (Scotland) Act 2010 asp 1. 

Arbitral Institutions

  • London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA)

  • The Federation of Oils, Seeds & Fats Associations

  • London Metal Exchange (LME)

  • Insurance and Reinsurance Arbitration Society (ARIAS (UK))

  • Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution

  • JAMS International

Multilateral Conventions

  • New York Convention: Yes (ratification/accession: 24 September 1975); reservations: The United Kingdom will apply the Convention only to the recognition and enforcement of awards made in the territory of another Contracting State. This declaration is also made on behalf of Gibraltar, Hong Kong and the Isle of Man to which the Convention has been extended. Notably, Hong Kong is no longer a British Overseas Territory. The Government of China extended the territorial application of the New York Convention to Hong Kong in 1997upon resumption of sovereignty over what is now one of China’s Special Administrative Regions.

  • European Convention: No.

  • ICSID Convention: Yes (ratification/accession: 19 December 1966);

  • Energy Charter Treaty: Yes (ratification/accession: 13 December 1996).


Last updated February 2019